Image Simon Cudby/KTM
Image Simon Cudby/KTM
Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey on Saturday reaffirmed his status as the current AMA Supercross SX450 champion when he won round two of the 2016 competition in San Diego to reclaim the red plate as championship leader.

Dungey was impressive throughout the event. He was the fastest qualifier and went on to take the heat win to secure a top spot on the main event line-up. His factory teammate, Dean Wilson, also had a great heat. Wilson was second out of the gate and passed BTO KTM rider Justin Brayton for the lead. He held on to the front spot and went on to take his heat win.

The third member of the team, Marvin Musquin, missed the automatic transfer and went on to contest the semifinal where he got a good jump and went on the finish in second place to make the final.

Dungey was third at the start of the main event while Musquin and Wilson were around mid-pack and wasted no time making passes to advance to second by the end of the first lap. He took over the lead from Brayton in the second lap and went on to ride a smooth race to the finish to easily take his first victory of the season.

Teammate Musquin pushed hard in the second half of the moto and moved up to ninth to pick up a top ten finish in only his second 450 race. Wilson struggled in the main, fell back some positions and went on to finish 15th overall.

“I’m really excited to get the red plate back,” stated Dungey on the podium. “But, it’s a long season and this is just the second race. I just have to keep plugging away and do my work to keep up here for the long haul.”

Full highlights HERE

Next Race: Anaheim, CA – January 23, 2016

Results – SX450

1. Ryan Dungey, KTM 25
2. Chad Reed 22
3. Cole Seely 20
4. Eli Tomac 18
5. Jason Anderson, Husqvarna 16 (penalized two position post race due to a red flag infringement)
6. Ken Roczen 15
7. Trey Canard 14
8. Jacob Weimer 14
9. Marvin Musquin, KTM 12
10. Justin Brayton, KTM 11
Other KTM
12. David Millsaps, KTM 9
15. Dean Wilson, KTM 6

SX 450 Points after round two
1, Dungey 47
2. Anderson 41
3. Seely 40
4. Reed 37
5. Tomac 36

Manufacturer’s Standings
1. KTM 47
2. Husqvarna 45
3. Honda 38

Results SX250 West
1, Cooper Webb 25
2. Joey Savatgy 22
3. Jordon Smith 20
4. Christian Craig 18
5. Colt Nichols 16
Other KTM
12. Cole Thompson KTM 12
15. Mitchel Oldenburg 6

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply