You are here
Home > AMCA > Get Ready for some sand-blasting at Hawkstone

Get Ready for some sand-blasting at Hawkstone

This Sunday, July 4th, the iconic Hawkstone Park is next up for the title chasing riders in the 2021 AMCA British Motocross Championship powered by Datatag and supported by Dunlop.

Before the last round at Norley, just 16 points had separated the MX1 top five but that gap as now increased to 49! Still leading the way is the ultra- consistent Ashley Greedy who has been on the podium in three out of the four completed events. Currently in 2nd place is the defending Champion Luke Burton, 18 points in arrears with James Dodd now moving up into 3rd. With the feeling that the MX1 class is going to serve up plenty more drama and great action as the season unfolds, Josh Waterman, Adam Chatfield, Luke Hawkins, Jamie Skuse and Zac Stealey will be looking for a big Hawkstone points return to put pressure on the current top three.

Following round 4 of the series, it’s now Nev Bradshaw topping the MX2 race for honours. Incredibly though Nev on the 250cc 2T is just a single point ahead of his FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna teammate Shane Carless on a 250F 4T! Having also led this title race, Henry Williams is now in 3rd spot a further 13 points behind Carless. Next up come the young, former Youth racing  stars Rossi Beard and Josh Peters ahead of Rory Jones, Corey Hockey, Lewis Dowdeswell and Josh Coleman. That 7th  spot is a particularly impressive placing for Midwest Racing Husqvarna pilot Hockey who had to miss the opening round due to injury.

Four out of four podiums including three top steps have helped the fast Kieran Banks build a nice 43 point lead at the top of the 125cc Championship table. Also showing fine consistency is current 2nd placed rider Bradley Tranter whilst Lloyd Morgan has moved up into 3rdfollowing the action at Norley. As Jordan Wright sits in 4th and Harrison McCann 5th, could Joel Fisher, Matt Ridgeway, Jack Timms, Tom Fisher, Luke Newman or Clinton Barrs be the Hawkstone sandmaster and suddenly surge up the standings.

So far, Vets series leader Phil Mercer has won 8 out of 10 moto’s but incredibly his advantage at the top is just 22 points! That’s because the man chasing him down and responsible for Phil’s two defeats so far is the equally talented and determined Gary Davies. At Hawkstone this weekend, Davies is just about on home soil and always produces big results at the venue so expect the battle with ‘Factory Phil’ to be red hot! Fighting hard to hunt down the flying top two is the current Vets Champion James Lane whilst next up in the current standings are the fast starting Paul Burn, Simon Lane, Sean Smith and Andrew Watkins. At present Watkins is also the leader of the Vets Over50 class with Brian Staples, Gareth Dunsford and Mark Hawkins giving chase.

Oliver Rigby currently tops the competitive Youth 85cc class, 32 points clear of Charlie Hucklebridge. There appears little to choose between these two flying youngsters and although Rigby holds the advantage this battle could rage until the final chequered flag of the season. Holding 3rd at present is Wyatt McGregor from Jack Davis, Rheanna Morgan-Rogers and SW85cc pilots Harley Prickett and Oakley Kettle. In the separately scored class for SW85cc riders, Kettle leads Prickett by just a single point with Harrison Davies in 3rd, Oliver Bebb 4th, Logan Chinnock 5th and Caiden Baillie 6th.

So if you are looking for some top class motocross racing at one the UK’s top venues then why not get along to Hawkstone Park in Shropshire, postcode SY4 4NA. You can even make it a full weekend of entertainment as there’s also action on the Saturday with the AMCA Northern Group lads and lasses battling it out!

MX1 1 Ashley Greedy(LHRT Kawasaki) 458 points 2 Luke Burton(FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna) 440 3 James Dodd(Ultimate Wheels/Thunderrroad Honda) 429 4  Josh Waterman(IDS Marsh MX Honda) 426 5 Adam Chatfield(Ultimate Wheels/Thunderrroad Honda) 409 6 Luke Hawkins(Apex GasGas UK) 404.

MX2  1 Neville Bradshaw(FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna) 468 points 2 Shane Carless(FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna) 467 3 Henry Williams(Apex GasGas UK) 454 4 Rossi Beard(MDMX FIR Racing KTM) 425  5 Josh Peters(Gabriel Insulations KTM) 361 6 Rory Jones(J4M54-Tim Loveday)  340.

125cc 1 Kieran Banks(Meredith MX Fantic) 483 points 2 Bradley Tranter(Six10 Motorsport KTM) 440  3 Lloyd Morgan(DirtWheelz Fantic) 405 4 Jordan Wright(Passion Racing GasGas) 364  5 Harrison McCann(Team Parklane Bridgestone Yamaha) 360 6 Joel Fisher(AD Modular/Beer Trading KTM) 359.

Vets 1 Phil Mercer(FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna) 494 points  2 Gary Davies(Cradley Kawasaki) 472  3 James Lane(LRT MotoXchange Husqvarna) 444  4 Paul Burn(DBC Motorcycles/BG Motorsport KTM) 393 5 Simon Lane(LRT MotoXchange Husqvarna) 365 6 Sean Smith(Wulfsport/Six10 Motorsport KTM) 360.

Vets Over 50  1 Andrew Watkins(MDMX Racing) 481 points 2 Brian Staples 440 3 Gareth Dunsford(MX Dreams California) 410 4 Mark Hawkins 393  5 Kevin Rogers(Morris Oils Lubricants KTM) 344 6 Gary Hurst(Rex Hurst & Sons) 342..

Youth 85cc  1 Oliver Rigby(Edge-One Motocross KTM) 461 points  2 Charlie Hucklebridge(Husqvarna)  429  3 Wyatt McGregor 384 4  Jack Davis(Michelin Tyres)  373 5 Rheanna Morgan-Rogers(LR Designs) 301 6  Harley Prickett(FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna) 299.

Youth SW85cc  1   Oakley Kettle(Rikki Priest Accademy)  468 points 2 Harley Prickett 467  3  Harrison Davies(Avidety/Aberdare Heating)  454  4 Oliver Bebb 410 5 Logan Chinnock(Controlled Climate Ltd) 379 6 Caiden Bailie(MDMX Racing) 316.  

Words and images by Mike Wood

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply