Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli is the most recent winner of the MXGP of Spain. Although Tony has many accolades and multiple GP wins, last years win here in Talavera wasn’t just any old win. After an average start to the season last year, at least by his standards, TC222 decided to switch up everything. His usual KTM 350SX-F got parked in the shed and he whipped out the big bad 450. He also benched his trademark fluro colors and wore red AXO racewear with white Sidi boots. Anyway, it’s not about the bike as Lance Armstrong (Ed: probably not the best person to quote) once said, nor is it about his kit. Tony managed to win on his 450cc debut and still rides the 450 to this day.


Summer is on its way and so too is the real Antonio Cairoli who has built some solid momentum and confidence after winning the last two grand prix’.

If Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser impressed you with his sick scrubs in Germany, you better hold your jaw in place because it’s bound to drop at the circuit renowned for its scrub enticing hills. Putting his insane whips aside, Tiga will also be running the red plate for the third time this year as he leads the championship, 4 points clear of Romain Febvre.

The MXGP of Spain in Talavera de la Reina was the first sign of big things to come for Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Romain Febvre who hit a career milestone here when he landed on the podium for the first time in the premier class. While that was astonishing for the kid who was still under the radar at the time, what is more mind blowing is the fact that that podium finish led to a streak of 16 consecutive podium appearances. The defending champion broke that podium run at the fourth round this season in Patagonia Argentina.

The Frenchman’s most recent grand prix win was back in March in the sand of Valkenswaard, The Netherlands, which could fool you into thinking he’s a better sand rider, yet most people that know him as a rider would say he is definitely one of the strongest riders in the world on hard and slick surfaces which will make him a huge threat for the win this weekend.

Team Suzuki World MXGP’s duo of Kevin Strijbos and Ben Townley are two seasoned riders who should enjoy the old school flow to the circuit of Talavera. So too will Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl who landed on the second step last year.

The current vice world champion, Gautier Paulin, and world number 3, Evgeny Bobryshev, will both be looking to light some candles on their Team HRC’s Honda’s as well.

As for the local hero Marchetti Racing KTM’s Jose Butron, he has been knocking on the door of the top ten all season long. It will cool to see him crack it this weekend for his fans.

2015 MXGP of Spain MXGP Top 3
1. Antonio Cairoli
2. Max Nagl
3. Romain Febvre

MXGP Championship Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 335 points; 2. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 331 p.; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 310 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 273 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 264 p.; 6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 247 p.; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 204 p.; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 189 p.; 9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 153 p.; 10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 146 p.

Words and image by MXGP

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply