The 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship schedule has been announced, and longtime fans of the series will recognize the return of a certain iconic track to the lineup: Southwick.

Next season, the series will hold a race at Southwick for the first time since 2013. With the promoters unable to reach an agreement with the landowners over continued use of the facility, the event was forced to take a two-year hiatus after 2013, but the door was kept open for an eventual return.

“When we made the decision to leave Southwick at the conclusion of the 2013 season there was always a belief that we would return there in the near future. We are proud to say that the time has come to bring the championship back to ‘the sandbox,’ filling a void many fans and members of the industry have felt the last three years,” MX Sports Pro Racing President Davey Coombs said in a press release. “We are excited to return to the passionate fans in New England and showcase one of the most beloved and unique venues of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.”

The Southwick National will replace the Utah National, which had been held at Miller Motorsports Park for the last three years.

Overall, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will once again hold 12 rounds of racing over the course of the season, kicking off on May 21st at Hangtown. For the second year in a row, the season will culminate at Ironman Raceway for the final round, which will be held on August 27th.


May 21 Hangtown Motocross Classic Sacramento, CA
May 28 Glen Helen National San Bernardino, CA
June 4 Thunder Valley National Lakewood, CO
June 18 High Point National Mt. Morris, PA
June 25 Tennessee National Blountville, TN
July 2 RedBud National Buchanan, MI
July 9 Southwick National Southwick, MA
July 16 Spring Creek National Millville, MN
July 23 Washougal National Washougal, WA
August 13 Unadilla National New Berlin, NY
August 20 Budds Creek National Mechanicsville, MD
August 27 Ironman National Crawfordsville, IN

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply