You are here
Home > News > It’s the final countdown!

It’s the final countdown!

After seven hard-fought rounds the 2017 Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship supported by Pro Clean signs off on Sunday at Foxhill

The team has been flat-out at this legendary Wiltshire circuit – scene of some of the best GPs of the ’90s – to make sure that it’s prepped to perfection for the eighth and final round and there’s a packed programme for race fans.

Graeme Irwin (Buildbase Honda) and Ben Watson (Hitachi KTM UK) sewed up the MX1 and MX2 titles last time out at Preston Docks but that doesn’t mean anyone will be backing it down.

While Irwin has already been crowned the fastest 450 rider in the country there’s still the silver and bronze medals to be decided with Gert Krestinov (Phoenix Tools Honda Racing) leading Brad Anderson (Verde Sports Racing KTM) by just nine points. Gert may have the mathematical advantage but Brad, coming off the back of his sensational EMX300 title, has momentum behind him.

Rob Davidson (SJP Moto Husqvarna) can’t advance higher than fourth and will need to bring his A game to defend his position from Jamie Law (Apico Husqvarna) who’s just nine points behind.

Another podium contender is Elliott Banks-Browne (Geartec Husqvarna) who won there in 2014.

Down in MX2 it’s Martin Barr (Builbase Honda) who’s sitting pretty for second but there are at least three candidates for bronze with Harri Kullas (MVR-D Route 77 Husqvarna), Mel Pocock (REVO Husqvarna UK) and Todd Kellett (Hitachi KTM UK) all in with a chance. Chuck into the mix the new MX1 king Irwin who’s racing both classes this weekend and it promises to be an adrenalin-fuelled feast!

For the first time this year all four classes will run so along with the big guns of the pro MX1 and MX2 divisions there will also be the last rounds of the British Two-stroke and MXY2 championships which are still wide open.

The two-stroke title is a two-horse race between series leader Mike Kras (GL12 Racing KTM) and super-vet Neville Bradshaw (DB Racing Honda) who is just seven points adrift heading into this fourth and final round and is breaking out a CR five-tonner just for the occasion.

The battle for third is also too close to call with Rob Holyoake (Apico CPS Husqvarna) only two points ahead of James Dunn (GL12 Racing KTM) and three in front of Will Worden (RC Motorhomes KTM).

In MXY2 Keenan Hird (Craigs Kawasaki) has a handy 24-point lead over Tom Grimshaw (HCR Putoline Apico Yamaha) with Lewis Hall (Team Green Kawasaki) a further nine off the pace after a disastrous DNF at the previous round at Preston Docks.

The action gets under way at 9am with the first race at 11.55am. Admission is £20 for adults and £5 for children with family tickets priced at £45. Foxhill is four miles east of Swindon. Postcode is SN4 0DR.

Picture © Nuno Laranjeira

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply