Round three of the 2024 Dirt Store ACU British Motocross Championship saw Blaxhall take centre stage, with the Suffolk circuit producing an action-packed day of racing.

With all eyes on the pulsating ongoing duel between Jeffrey Herlings and Conrad Mewse in MX1, this time the Brit edged out the Dutchman courtesy of his moto one victory, as the second motos were cancelled.

Riding superbly and taking advantage of a crash from the #84, the Crendon Tru7 Honda star crossed the line roughly a second in front of his rival. 

Negotiating the demanding track with aplomb to record the fastest lap by logging a 1:48.490, just ahead of Herlings’ finest of 1:48.536, Mewse deserves tremendous credit for ousting the MXGP legend on a day where the dynamic duo put on a real show for the fans.

Banking third was SC Sporthomes Husqvarna’s Tristan Purdon, fresh after returning from his AMA Pro Motocross adventures.

Brad Todd then finished fourth ahead of the Apico Honda pair of Martin Barr and Tom Grimshaw. Carlton Husband, Jason Meara, Dan Thornhill and Shaun Southgate rounded out the top ten in the MX1 class.

Turning the attention to the MX2 class, and it was Gabriel SS24 KTM’s Dutch sensation Cas Valk who claimed the win, with him handling the conditions brilliantly to stamp his mark.

Finishing 10 seconds ahead of American speedster Jack Chambers, Valk capitalised on his challenger’s unsatisfactory start that hindered him from duking it out with the talented youngster.

Dirt Store Kawasaki hotshot Joel Rizzi continued his strong form by securing third, as he held off a hard-charging Jake Nicholls.

Just behind them were well-known heavy hitters in Dylan Walsh and Tommy Searle in fifth and sixth respectively, which served as a testament to just how stacked this MX2 category is.

The efforts of multi-skilled Todd Kellett to bag seventh warrants special mention, with him notably beating off the likes of Taylor Hammal, Ollie Colmer, Alfie Jones, Charlie Cole, Steven Clarke and Joe Brookes.

Elsewhere, Reece Jones took home the chocolates in the 250cc class, Josh Vail reigned supreme in the 125cc racing and Hayden Statt got the job done in the Big Wheel 85cc division.

The focus will now shift to the next stop on the calendar, where the iconic Foxhill will play host to what looms as a fascinating round four of the series.

Image: Crendon Honda

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply